Specifications needed to accomplish a Life-Cycle-oriented Origin analysis (LCOA)
The LCOA is suitable for the optimisation as well as for the communication of the origin of products. Producers may use the results in-house to raise the regional share or to optimize intermediate products along the supply chain (B2B). Dissemination via packaging, advertising or the internet may help to inform consumers (B2C). To ensure that the details of the LCOA are consistent and sufficient for the purpose of the study, the client should clearly name the goal. A unit of comparison for the investigated product is an important normative requirement of the Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) and is overtaken by the LCOA. The functional or declared unit forms the reference, to which raw materials, intermediate products and processing are related. If the results are used for product comparisons, then the product group and the corresponding product category rule (PCR) should be identified and investigated.

Product group, EPD and PCR

To identify the accurate product group different systems of product classification are available (e.g. UN CPC; http://unstats.un.org). The correct definition of the product group is a prerequisite for a type III environmental declaration (environmental product declaration, EPD). An EPD is an instrument for the producer to communicate the environmental performance of his product. With EPDs comparative assertions between competing products become possible whereby the basis of the assertion constitutes a Life Cycle Assessment (LCA). EPDs are managed by program operators (e.g. The International EPD® System; http://www.environdec.com). The operators offer product category rules (PCRs) as a guidance for the preparation of an EPD. A PCR document contains specific instructions for the compilation of processes along the supply chain.

The LCOA covers all processes which appear in the life cycle of a product except the use phase and the end-of-life phase (e.g. waste disposal). The total of all relevant processes for the manufacturing of the product constitutes the product system. The admissibility to exclude a relevant process from the product system and leave it outside the system boundary is decided by a cut-off rule. An indicative cut-off value in the LCOA is as follows: The sum of all processes outside the product system (i.e. the system boundaries) should not exceed 1 % of the total of all relevant processes. After completion of the LCOA it has to be critically reviewed that disregarded processes do not compromise the validity of result. Beside the product all co-products suitable for human consumption form a useable output of the product system. Dealing with co-products in LCOA is widely congruent with LCA and EPD practice. When co-products exist then LCA methodology demands a partitioning of the turnover of upstream processes to product and co-products – a procedure which is called allocation. If not already done at the definition of the functional unit then at least at the allocation it has to be decided if the turnover of the processes is either specified as mass (physically) or as market price (economically).

Further specifications can be made in respect to the product system and the final result: A threshold value can be defined for the share of known origin. And it can be stipulated that a dissemination of the final result depends on the exceeding of such a value. A further specification in terms of data quality may be the share of primary data. Primary data are provided by the producer himself or from the supply chain. They are specific for the investigated product while secondary (generic) data stem from literature or data bases and substitute primary data. The share of primary data can therefore be interpreted as an indicator for data quality. Before starting a detailed LCOA a checklist may be prepared to analyse both the availability of primary data from the producer or from suppliers and the availability of generic data from literature. Such a preliminary analysis may be helpful to appraise if the detailed analysis will provide a valid result.

Table 1

Specifications-for-LCOA

Inventory
All processes starting with raw materials up to the final product are inventoried. For the product system chicken breast these are feed cultivation and feed processing, parent farm, hatching, broiling, slaughtering, processing and packaging (figure 1). The inventory is limited to materials which substantially add to the final product and to processes which are essential to provide or transform these materials. Because LCOA is restricted to product origin resource depletion and environmental impacts are out of scope. Consequently the inventory disregards all types of waste, emissions and energy as well as transport, infrastructure and auxiliary materials (e.g. solvents, cleansers or disinfectants). The product system sketched in table 1 has to be elaborated in detail and – going back from the final product – the processes have to be related to each other. This means that the demand of the downstream process determines the required output of the upstream process while the functional unit of the product determines the absolute quantity. Figure 1 shows the inventory in mass quantities (kg), alternatively market prices (€/kg) could also be applied.

Figure 1

Product-System1

At slaughter the investigated product 1.0 kg of chicken breast and additional 2.04 kg of co-product is generated. According to the general rules for allocation the turnover of all upstream processes – this concerns all processes preceding the process Slaughterhouse – have to be divided between the product and the co-product at a ratio of 1 to 2.04. However this does not apply to downstream processes such as Package material which accounts for 100 percent to chicken breast. The process First hatchery (chicken) in figure 1 is set outside the system boundary and does not contribute to the product system. For such a setting the fulfilment of the cut-off rule has to be checked at least after the final result is known.

Origin analysis
Figure 2 shows the geographical specifications of the product system reaching from small villages, districts, provinces to countries and to even larger units. The geographical specifications given are named geographical units.

Figure 2

Product-System

Since very small, poorly defined or widely unknown locations respectively regions of origin would make it difficult to communicate the results of the analysis it is advisable to search for better known and well defined alternatives. As a rule political and administrative units such as districts, provinces, nation states or the EU are suitable for that.

Figure 3 shows alternatives for small and unknown geographical units: The process Second hatchery respectively Slaughterhouse is located in the village Lasnitzhöhe respectively Gniebing. Therefore the district Graz-surrounding respectively Southeast Styria or even the province Styria seems to be a better alternative. The smaller geographical unit – in this case the districts – may better elaborate the local or regional share of the product.

Figure 3

Styria-Map

According to the producer the origin of the process Feed components (broiling) Maize is located in the Austrian provinces Burgenland and Lower Austria. With respect to the presentation of the final outcome the use of the next larger political and administrative unit Austria would be more convenient and understandable than an aggregation of two provinces.

If the geographical unit is principally known but brings little gain in information or complicates the presentation of the final result, then the default unit Global can be used. A typical application for that would be the process Packaging material with the complex geographical information Austria/Germany/Italy gathered from the producer. Processes which are unknown in their origin are collected in the default unit Unknown. The unknown share of origin can therefore be calculated and constitutes an important information for product optimisation and product communication.

As soon as a set of (provisional) geographical units is fixed a spreadsheet can be compiled which – for each process separately – quotes the inventoried mass quantities (kg) or – alternatively – market prices (€/kg) and allocates them to the geographical unit. After summing up the geographical unit’s share of origin is calculated (row 13 in table 2). The share of origin is that proportion of the supply chain expressed in percent which can be assigned to a given geographical unit (i.e. area). Table 2 depicts the complete origin information about the product chicken breast. The processes are assigned to two districts, three provinces, two aggregations of provinces and two national states. Additionally the default units Global and Unknown are provided.

Table 2

Tabellenkalkulation_englisch

Result
Table 2 contains the result of the LCOA of the chicken breast in detail. This presentation may be appropriate for in-house purposes but to complex and confusing to communicate it to consumers or stakeholders. For simplification the geographical units as well as the processes can be further integrated respectively aggregated. So the districts can be integrated into the provinces and the provinces into the geographical unit Austria. Through this procedure the final presentation however loses regional resolution. Also processes can be condensed, whereby the aggregates should form meaningful entities. So for instance the processes 1 to 6 inclusive can be aggregated to Feedstuff and the processes 7, 8 and 9 to Born + reared, while processes 10 (Slaughtered) and 11 (Processed + packaged) remain separate.

Figure 4

Geographical-1

Geographical unit’s share of origin can be graphically processed to point out the regional or national share (figure 5).

Figure 5

Geographical-2

Critical review
Once the analysis is implemented a critical review should examine if the study meets the specifications made at the beginning and if the used data are reliable. The latter affords a quality appraisal of the data provided by the producer or applicator and of the data gathered from literature. If it is intended to disseminate the results to stakeholders the review should be done by a third party. Such a review should include a sensitivity analysis and a consistency check according to LCA standards. The conclusions, limitations and recommendations should be compiled in a report which additionally includes a complete description of the product system, data, specifications and the final outcome of the LCOA.

Spezifikationen vor Durchführung einer Herkunftsbilanz
Die Herkunftsbilanz eignet sich für die Optimierung als auch für die Kommunikation der Herkunft von Produkten. Hersteller können die Ergebnisse beispielsweise betriebsintern zur Steigerung des regionalen Produktanteils verwenden oder um Vorprodukte in Bezug auf ihre Herkunft optimieren. Die Ergebnisse können aber auch auf der Verpackung, mittels Werbung oder im Internet  veröffentlicht und so an Verbraucher weitergegeben werden (B2C).Um sicherzustellen, dass die Einzelheiten der Studie widerspruchsfrei und für den vorgegebenen Zweck hinreichend sind, sollte der Auftraggeber den Zweck klar benennen. Die Festlegung einer Vergleichseinheit für das zu untersuchende Produkt ist eine wichtige normative Voraussetzung für eine Ökobilanz und wird von der Herkunftsbilanz übernommen. Die funktionelle Einheit (functional- bzw. declared-unit) ist diejenige Referenz, auf die Rohstoffe, Vorprodukte und Verarbeitungsprozesse bezogen werden. Wenn die Ergebnisse für Produktvergleiche verwendet werden, dann sollte für das untersuchte Produkt die Produktgruppe identifiziert und ein Dokument mit den korrespondierenden Produktgruppenregeln recherchiert werden.

Produktgruppe, EPD und PCR

Zur Identifizierung einer Produktgruppe stehen verschiedene Klassifizierungssysteme zur Verfügung (UN CPC; http://unstats.un.org). Die korrekte Definition der Produktgruppe ist Voraussetzung für eine Typ III Umweltdeklaration (Environmental Product Declaration, EPD). Eine EPD ist das Informationsinstrument des Herstellers für die Umweltleistung seines Produktes. Mit EPDs werden vergleichende Aussagen zwischen konkurrierenden Produkten möglich wobei die Bewertungsbasis eine Ökobilanz ist. EPDs werden von Programmbetreibern verwaltet (z.B. The International EPD® System; http://www.environdec.com). Die Progammbetreiber bieten auch Anleitungen für die Erstellung von EPDs in Form von Produktgruppenregeln (Product Category Rules, PCRs) an. Eine PCR enthält konkrete Anweisungen für die Erfassung von Prozessen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette.

Die Herkunftsbilanz erfasst alle im Lebenszyklus des Produktes auftretenden Prozesse ausgenommen die Nutzungs- und Entsorgungsphase. Die Summe aller für die Herstellung eine Produktes relevanten Prozesse sind das Produktsystem. Ob es zulässig ist relevante Prozesse vom Produktsystem auszuschließen bzw. sie außerhalb der Systemgrenze zu setzen lässt sich mit Hilfe des Abschneidekriteriums (Cut-Off rule) entscheiden. Der Richtwert für das Abschneidekriterium in der Herkunftsbilanz lautet: Die Summe aller Prozesse außerhalb des Produktsystems bzw. außerhalb der Systemgrenze beträgt weniger als 1% aller relevanten Prozesse. Nach Durchführung der Bilanz ist kritisch zu prüfen, ob deren Außerachtlassung nicht die Aussagekraft des Ergebnisses beeinträchtigt. Neben dem Produkt sind auch Co-Produkte (Koppelprodukte) für den menschlichen Gebrauch geeignet und stellen somit einen verwertbaren Output des Produktsystems dar. Der Umgang mit Co-Produkten in der Herkunftsbilanz ist weitgehend ident mit dem in einer Ökobilanz. Wie bei der Ökobilanzmethode sind bei Vorliegen von Co-Produkten die Umsätze aller vorgelagerten Prozesse auf das Produkt und Co-Produkt(e) aufzuteilen – diese Vorgangsweise wird als Allokation bezeichnet. Wenn nicht schon bei der Festlegung der funktionellen Einheit dann ist spätestens bei der Allokation zu entscheiden, ob die Umsätze der Prozesse entweder in Masse (physikalisch) oder in Marktpreisen (ökonomisch) bilanziert werden.

Bei Bedarf können weitere Festlegungen in Bezug auf das Produktsystem und das Endergebnis vor Beginn einer Detailanalyse getroffen werden. So kann für den Anteil mit bekannter Herkunft ein Grenzwert festgelegt werden. Und es kann festgelegt werden, dass erst bei dessen Überschreitung die Ergebnisse der Bilanz veröffentlicht werden. Ein solcher Grenzwert könnte auch für den Anteil an Primärdaten festgelegt werden. Primärdaten werden vom Hersteller oder der Lieferkette bereitgestellt und sind spezifisch für das untersuchte Produkt. Sekundärdaten (generische Daten) stammen aus der Literatur oder Datenbanken und ersetzen Primärdaten. Ein Mindestanteil an Primärdaten kann also als Indikator für die Datenqualität interpretiert werden. Und schließlich kann – eventuell mit Hilfe einer Checkliste – die Verfügbarkeit von Primärdaten (vom Hersteller bzw. von der Lieferkette) als auch von Sekundärdaten (aus der Literatur) analysiert werden. Mit einer solchen Voranalyse kann abgeschätzt werden, ob die Detailanalyse voraussichtlich ein im Sinne der Zielsetzung verwertbares Endergebnis liefern wird.

Tabelle 1

Spezifikationen-zur-Herkunftsbilanz

Inventarisierung
Inventarisiert werden die Prozesse entlang der Wertschöpfungskette bis zum fertigen Produkt. Für das Produkt Hühnerbrust sind dies Futtermittelanbau und -verarbeitung, Elterntierhaltung, Brüterei, Mast, Schlachtung, Verarbeitung und Verpackung (Abbildung 1). Die Inventarisierung beschränkt sich auf Materialien, die zum Endprodukt beitragen und Prozesse, die erforderlich sind um diese Materialien bereitzustellen oder umzuwandeln. Da die Herkunftsbilanz auf die Produktherkunft beschränkt ist bleiben Ressourcenverbräuche und Umweltwirkungen unberücksichtigt. Von der Inventarisierung nicht erfasst werden daher alle Arten von Abfällen, Emissionen, Energie, Transporte, die Infrastruktur und Hilfsmaterialien (z.B. Löse-, Reinigungs- und Desinfektionsmittel). Das in Tabelle 1 skizzierte Produktsystem ist in der Detailanalyse auszuarbeiten und – vom Endprodukt zurückgehend – werden die einzelnen Prozesse aufeinander bezogen. Das bedeutet, dass der Input des nachgeschalteten Prozesses dem Output des vorgeschalteten Prozesses vorgibt und die funktionelle Einheit (1 kg verpackte Hühnerbrust) als Referenzgröße die jeweils benötigte Menge bestimmt. Abbildung 1 zeigt die Inventarisierung nach Stoffmengen (kg), alternativ könnten auch Marktpreise (€/kg) verwendet werden.

Abbildung 1

Produktsystem1

Im Prozess Schlachtung entsteht neben 1,0 kg Produkt Hühnerbrust zusätzlich 2,04 kg Co-Produkt. Gemäß den allgemeinen Regeln für die Allokation sind daher die Stoffmengen aller der Schlachtung vorgeschalteten Prozesse zwischen Produkt und Co-Produkt im Verhältnis 1 zu 2,04 aufzuteilen. Nachgeschaltete Prozesse wie die Verpackung werden dagegen zu 100% der Hühnerbrust zugerechnet. Der Prozess Brüterei Elterntiere (Kücken) befindet sich in Abbildung 1 außerhalb der Systemgrenze und ist nicht Teil des Produktsystems. Bei einer solchen Festlegung ist spätestens nach Vorliegen des Endergebnisses kritisch zu prüfen, ob das Abschneidekriterium eingehalten worden ist.

Herkunftsanalyse
Abbildung 2 zeigt die geographische Beschreibung des Produktsystems. Die Angaben reichen dabei von sehr kleinen Ortschaften, Bezirken, Bundesländer bis zu Nationalstaaten und darüber hinaus. Geographische Angaben werden in der Herkunftsbilanz als Herkunftsräume bezeichnet.

Abbildung 2

Produktsystem2

Da sehr kleine, schlecht definierte oder weitgehend unbekannte Herkunftsräume die Kommunikation der Bilanzergebnisse erschweren ist es ratsam, dafür gut definierte oder besser bekannte Alternativen zu suchen. In der Regel eignen sich dafür politisch-administrative Einheiten wie Bezirke, Bundesländer, Nationalstaaten oder auch die EU. Abbildung 3 zeigt Alternativen für kleine und unbekannte Herkunftsräume: Die Prozesse Kücken: Brüterei bzw. Schlachtung finden in den Ortschaften Lasnitzhöhe bzw. Gniebing statt. Dafür bieten sich die Bezirke Graz-Umgebung bzw. Südoststeiermark oder das Land Steiermark als Alternativen an. Grundsätzlich können mit den jeweils kleineren Herkunftsräumen – in diesem Fall den Bezirken – besonders gut lokale bzw. regionale Produktanteile herausgearbeitet werden.

Abbildung 3

Steiermark-Karte

Gemäß Herstellerangaben ist der Prozess Bio-Mais: Anbau Futtermittel Mast in den Bundesländer Burgenland und Niederösterreich verortet. Mit Blick auf die Darstellung des Endergebnisses erscheint die Verwendung der nächst größeren politisch-administrativem Einheit Österreich praktischer und verständlicher als die Aggregation zweier Bundesländer.

Ist ein Herkunftsraum grundsätzlich bekannt aber dessen Angabe von geringem Informationswert oder erschwerend für die Ergebnisdarstellung, dann kann diese geographische Angabe dem vorgegebenen Herkunftsraum Global zugeordnet werden. Eine typische Anwendung wäre etwa der Prozess Verpackungsmaterial mit der vom Hersteller erhaltenen komplexen geographischen Information Österreich/Deutschland/Italien. Prozesse deren Herkunft nicht bekannt ist werden dem vorgegebenen Herkunftsraum Unbekannt zugeordnet. Der unbekannte Herkunftsanteil kann damit in der Herkunftsbilanz erfasst und berechnet werden und ist eine wichtige Information bei der Produktoptimierung und Produktkommunikation.

Sobald ein Satz von (vorläufigen) Herkunftsräumen festgelegt ist wird eine Kalkulationstabelle erstellt, welche für jeden Prozess die inventarisierte Stoffmenge (oder alternativ: den Preis) anführt und diese den Herkunftsräumen zuordnet. Nach Aufsummierung werden daraus Herkunftsanteile berechnet (Zeile 13 in Tabelle 2). Der Herkunftsanteil ausgedrückt in Prozent ist derjenige Anteil der Wertschöpfungskette, der einem gegebenen Herkunftsraum (Gebiet) zugeordnet wird. Tabelle 2 zeigt die vollständige Herkunftsinformation des untersuchten Produktes Hühnerbrust. Die Prozesse sind darin zwei Bezirken, drei Bundesländern, zwei aggregierten Bundesländern und zwei Nationalstaaten zugeordnet. Zusätzlich stehen die vorgegebenen Herkunftsräume Global und Unbekannt zur Verfügung.

Tabelle 2

Tabellenkalkulation

Ergebnisdarstellung
Tabelle 2 enthält das Ergebnis der Herkunftsanalyse im Detail. Diese Darstellung erscheint für betriebsinterne Zwecke ausreichend aber als zu komplex und unübersichtlich für Verbraucher. Zur Vereinfachung können Herkunftsräume als auch Prozesse weiter zusammengefasst bzw. aggregiert werden. So können Bezirke in die Bundesländer und diese wiederum in den Herkunftsraum Österreich integriert werden. Mit dieser Vorgangsweise verliert die Ergebnisdarstellung allerdings an regionaler Auflösung. Auch Prozesse können zusammengefasst werden, wobei die Aggregate sinnvolle Einheiten bilden sollten. So lassen sich etwa die Prozesse 1 bis inkl. 6 zu Futtermittel und die Prozesse 7, 8 & 9 zu Aufzucht + Mast zusammenfassen, während die Prozesse 10 (Schlachtung) und 11 (Verarbeitung + Verpackung) separat erfasst werden.

Abbildung 4

Herkunftsanteile

Herkunftsanteile können graphisch aufbereitet werden um so etwa die regionalen oder nationalen Herkunftsanteile herauszuarbeiten (Abbildung 5).

Abbildung 5

Herkunftsanteile2

Kritische Prüfung
Nach Durchführung sollte kritisch geprüft werden ob die zu Beginn festgelegten Spezifikationen eingehalten werden bzw. erfüllt sind und die verwendeten Daten zuverlässig sind. Letzteres erfordert eine Einschätzung der Güte der vom Hersteller bzw. Anwender bereitgestellten Daten als auch der Literaturdaten. Ist eine Veröffentlichung der Ergebnisse beabsichtigt dann sollte die Prüfung durch unabhängige Dritte vorgenommen und eine Vollständigkeits-, Sensitivitäts- und Konsistenzprüfung in Anlehnung an die Ökobilanzmethode durchgeführt werden. Schlussfolgerungen, Einschränkungen und Empfehlungen der Prüfung sollten in einem Bericht zusammengefasst werden, der neben der Beschreibung des Produktsystems die verwendeten Daten, Spezifikationen und Bilanzergebnisse enthält.